back to top
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
34 C

Delhi govt nod to six dry days from Jan 26 to Mar 31



The Delhi government has approved six dry days between January 26 and March 31, officials aware of the development said on Monday.

The government approved a proposal by the excise department to declare the dry days on Republic Day (January 26), Guru Ravidas Jayanti (February 5), Swami Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti (February 15), Mahashivaratri (February 18), Holi (March 8), and Ram Navami (March 30). The excise department will issue a formal order announcing these dry days soon.

On five of these days, liquor shops will remain shut but alcohol can be served at restaurants, bars and hotels. However, on January 26, liquor can’t be sold or served at any commercial establishment, the officials said.

“According to the Delhi Excise Rules, no licensee is allowed to sell liquor on the days which are notified as dry days by the excise commissioner with the approval of the government. This restriction does not apply to the service of liquor to residents in hotels (L-15), service of liquor in L-16 (hotel bars), L-17-19 (restaurants and bars), L-duty-free shops, L-28 (club), L-29 (clubs/mess for govt servants), P-10 and P-13 (service of liquor in parties/functions/conferences) on all dry days except Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (August 15), and Mahatma Gandhi’s birth anniversary (October 2),” an excise official said.

Under the now-scrapped excise policy 2021-22, Delhi had only three dry days a year, but as the city has reverted back to the pre-2021 excise policy, the Capital has 21 dry days a year.

Under the 2021-22 policy, Republic Day had been declared a dry day but residents of hotels with an L-15 licence could be served liquor.

The above news was originally posted on

Aabkari Times Editorial Team
Aabkari Times is a monthly news magazine on Liquor, Excise and Alcohol allied industry; being published since 2009 by the expertise of retired excise dept. associates and alco-bev industry professionals as our editorial team. Our magazine contains different new alco-bev strategic and new brand launch articles as well as news on recent govt. policies, trends on alcohol industry and other important data relevant to the distilleries and industry at the mass.

Subscribe to our magazine

━ more like this

India Adds 100 Million Spirits Cases in Three Years From 228 to 412 Million Cases

India's growing middle class and love for whiskey have pushed interest in spirits to an all-time high. The domestic spirits market has seen impressive...

Liquor sales get 15% more profits to Karnataka govt

Bengaluru: Excise duty is a major contributor to the economic system of our state. Alcoholics have contributed huge revenue to the state coffers this...

TN: Beer flying off shelves in May, sales up by 26.55 per cent

CHENNAI: Tamil Nadu has seen a significant rise in beer sales (26.55%) this May compared to the same period last year. Tasmac, the state’s liquor...

Oil Marketing Companies Seek Bids for Ethanol Supply in ESY 2023-24

In ESY 2023-24, Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) are seeking bids for the supply of approximately 66 crore litres of Denatured Anhydrous Ethanol. Bidders are...

Haryana’s New Excise Policy to Raise Liquor Prices, Introduce Tracking System

The Haryana government has given the green light to a comprehensive excise policy for the fiscal year 2024-25, slated to take effect from June...